Skip to content
stormstoke
Loading snow data…
RESORT COMPARISON

Alta vs. Snowbird

Compare these Utah neighbours using the same forecast period. Snowfall totals are one part of the decision: check each resort’s access rules, open terrain and road information before you travel.

Compare the 5-day snow forecast

Metric and imperial

Alta has the highest modeled 5-day snowfall total in this comparison: 4.4 cm (1.7 in). The totals below start today in each resort’s local time zone.

Forecast feed updated . Each total covers 5 local calendar days, including the first date shown; dates and time zones are listed per resort.

Coverage: 2 of 2 listed resorts have complete current 5-day forecasts. 0 resorts are unavailable or excluded because data is missing, incomplete, invalid, or outside the required dates. Unavailable forecasts are never treated as zero snow.

Current 5-day modeled snowfall totals for selected resorts
RankResortNew snowLocal forecast datesForecast elevation
1Alta4.4 cm (1.7 in) –
America/Denver
3,090 m (10,138 ft)
2Snowbird4.3 cm (1.7 in) –
America/Denver
3,020 m (9,908 ft)

Source: Open-Meteo weather models. These are modeled snowfall totals at the listed forecast elevations, not resort-reported snowfall or confirmation that terrain is open. Forecast methodology and limitations.

The mountain details

These are reference figures, not current open terrain or lift counts. Sources may describe different seasons or counting methods; check the notes below before drawing a conclusion from a small difference.

On a small screen, scroll the table sideways to compare both mountains.

Published mountain facts for Alta vs. Snowbird
Mountain detailAltaSnowbird
LocationUtah, United StatesUtah, United States
Published skiable terrain1,058 ha / 2,614 acres1,012 ha / 2,500 acres
Published vertical drop774 m / 2,538 ft884 m / 2,900 ft
Base elevation2,598 m / 8,525 ft2,365 m / 7,760 ft
Summit elevation3,374 m / 11,068 ft3,353 m / 11,000 ft
Total lifts (inventory)814
Total trails (inventory)118149

Check the sources before you go

Forecast totals do not establish opening dates, terrain availability, ticket access or road conditions. Start with the official resort sites and use our forecast methodology to understand the numbers.

Alta

Official resort website ↗

Mountain facts reviewed

Fact sources and notes
  • Total lifts (inventory): OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Total trails (inventory): OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Published skiable terrain: OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Published vertical drop: OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Base elevation: OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Summit elevation: OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

Snowbird

Official resort website ↗

Mountain facts reviewed

Fact sources and notes
  • Total lifts (inventory): OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Total trails (inventory): OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Published skiable terrain: OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Published vertical drop: OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Base elevation: OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified

  • Summit elevation: OnTheSnow

    Resort overview statistics; reporting season not specified